Familiar with tragedy.

We have all had some kind of tragedy that has touched our lives in one form or another. Not one of us are immune from tragedy or struggles in our lives. But what if you have so much tragedy and trials that you can’t even enjoy the happy times because of the fear of the next thing coming?

What can you do when you have had some many hard times that you can’t seem to find solid ground to rebuild on. When you feel swallowed up in this dark cloud no matter what you do to get to the light.

I am feeling that now. For the last several years we have had one trial after another and I am being weighed down by this unbearable pressure. I want to be happy and go lucky but I am in this mud that is so heavy and I sink a little more each day.

I have many many things to be thankful for and I am thankful for them. I try not to take my family or friends for granted I try and do the things that used to make me happy but I’m not finding that same joy I once felt.

When I was younger there was this man who called me smiley! It made my day when I got to see him and he would say Hey smiley thanks for making my day better. He told my mother once that he had never seen a happier child than me. I was happy! I had all I needed and I was happy! So what happened?

I have been through a lot in my life and for many years the trials and tragedy that entered into my life didn’t seem to affect that smile of mine, but now that’s not the case. I know that I am not the only one that feels this way or who has gone through many trials in there life. I used to take such pride that I could face a problem head on an still keep a positive attitude. I want to be that person again.

But now it’s all I can do to make simple decisions. I can’t focus on things, I get stressed over the tiniest obstacles and I am extremely exhausted! I smile still but not like I used to. 

As I look at myself and my life I realize I’m responsible for my happiness. I can let these trials take my feet out from under me or I can make the best of the situation and learn from it. Some of the best lessons are hard learned. I have two wonderful children who are looking to me for an example of how to hand the struggles of life and I need to show them that even though life hits you hard you can keep moving forward and progress in this life.

It’s ok to have bad days where you need to take a break and cry it out or whatever you do, but we can’t get stuck there. It’s ok to not smile every second of everyday, but you need to smile each day. Place people in your life that are positive and can lift you up. 

Don’t dwell on the negative. Negative thoughts will creep in you have to find a way to be vigilant about getting them out of your mind and replacing them with positive thoughts. Place quotes around your house so you can see them each day and change them out so you have something new each week. 

Help others. When you are depressed or wallowing in self pity it is extremely hard to look past yourself and see others needs. But this is exactly what you need to do. Giving service sends positive signals to our minds that can change our thinking. “When you lose yourself in service you find yourself!” 

Love yourself! This is an very important process and also a very hard one. You have to find your good and worth. You need to know you have something to offer the world! There is a reason you are having these trials. You are strong and become stronger with each trial. God put you where you are for a reason and you are good enough and strong enough to overcome what is placed before you.

Trials and struggles will continue to come. Unfortunately I matter what you do or how good of a person you are you are not immune to trials. This alone can be frustrating. The knowledge that you are struggling now and there is more to come is overwhelming! Take one day at a time. Don’t worry about what hasn’t happened. That’s when you lose the happiness of today.

“Enjoy the little things in life……. for one day you’ll look back and realize they were the big things” Robert Brauit

Leave a Reply

